SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Brand talking already? August 18, 2010

Filed under: parenting — scifimama @ 8:26 am

I blogged about the Twinkle Toes we got Paige for her first day of school.  Paige will wear a new pair of shoes every day for 2 weeks until I pry them off her feet kicking and screaming.  That’s just life with a 4 year old who has a shoe fetish.  By Wednesday of last week she didn’t want to wear them anymore.  I thought that was odd, but didn’t press it.  Thursday or Friday we were talking about Halloween costumes.  Paige decided she wanted to be Ariel this year and insisted that it be a “real” Ariel costume. I tried to get her to tell me what she meant by a “real” Ariel costume but she couldn’t tell me.

I let the problem drop because I wasn’t sue what exactly she was talking about.  Then yesterday morning it clicked.  All of a sudden everything had to be “real” and she wouldn’t wear her favorite shoes anymore.  I started to question Paige to see if someone was making fun of her or her new shoes.  Mommy nailed it.  I asked leading questions, but let her pick the answers.  After Paige admitted someone was making fun of her shoes I asked who it was, and she wouldn’t tell me.  I started naming kids in the class.  Some of the names I knew it couldn’t be at all, like Jude, who was a week late starting school; yesterday was his first day.  I then named a couple more names before I got the right one.  I’ll call the other person Allison; not her real name.

It seems that Allison has been picking on Paige’s shoes.  She keeps telling Paige that the shoes aren’t real Twinkle Toes then picks on her and laughs at her.  I convinced Paige to wear her shoes again yesterday, and told her that if Allison tries saying things to her to tell her they are real Twinkle Toes and to leave her alone.  We’ve been trying to let Paige know it’s OK to not play with all of the kids in the class.  That Allison isn’t very nice to her, so she doesn’t have to play with her if she doesn’t want.

Yesterday wasn’t a whole lot better.  Allison was at it again.  Paige told her they’re real Twinkle Toes and to not make fun of her.  It didn’t really work very well.  And once again Paige didn’t want to wear her favorite shoes today.  She decided she would, after a little prodding from Mommy.  I want her to learn to work through this on her own, with a bit of help from Mommy of course.  I offered to talk to the teacher, but Paige didn’t want me to.  When I walked into school I wasn’t sure if I was going to say anything or not.  Well, then I walked in.  Paige immediately went over to see Allison and Kate.  She tried to pick up a toy that no one was playing with.  Allison yelled at Paige and shoved her away.  Paige wanted to get another toy, same thing.  That’s when Mommy lost it.

I asked for the director to call me when she got in at 8.  That was a pleasant call.  It’s a good thing she’s a friend and understands me.  I’m not the first to say something about Allison and her behavior.  They watched the kids today to see if it happened again so they could put a stop to it.  I’m not sure what the outcome was. I do know Allison made fun of the shoes again.  I’ve tried explaining to Paige that Allison is probably jealous because she doesn’t have a pair of Twinkle Toes.  They are all the hottest rage with the girls in this age group.

I had hoped we had longer until we had to worry about name brands.  I guess not.  Allison is making sure Paige, and the others, get introduced to real name brands at the tender age of 4.  Luckily, next year at public school, there’s a uniform.  Khaki pants all look alike.  Blue or red polo shirt without a logo?  All look the same.

 

2 Responses to “Brand talking already?”

  1. C. Beth Says:

    Ugh, that is a bummer!! I hope Allison’s parents are aware and will try to help their daughter have an attitude that’s better for her AND for the kids around her!

  2. strangemamma Says:

    My heart broke a little reading this post. Tell Paige from this Strange Mamma that I think she’s totally cool no matter what shoes she’s wearing. Just the fact that she has a shoe fetish puts her tops in my books. I’ll have to introduce her to my favs – Demonia boots – when she gets older. I bet Allison wouldn’t tell her what toys she can play with with a pair of those on.


Leave a Reply

