SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

New Job Time! November 30, 2010

Filed under: Mommy,Work — scifimama @ 5:30 am

Yep, I got a new job.  I’ve been with the same company for just over four years now.  In that time I haven’t really moved up a whole lot, as there hasn’t been much room for advancement.  I’ve moved around within the office, but not much more than that.  On January 3rd, that will change.  I’m staying with the same company, but changing offices.

I will move to an office with the company in Mississippi.  I’ll have about an hour commute each way daily.  I’ll do the commute until the end of the school year, then we’ll move back home to Mississippi.  Once we move back, Ronnie will have a commute back to his job in Alabama.  Based on where we want to live and where he works now, his commute would actually be a bit shorter than mine.

My new job will have me working with people still rebuilding from Katrina.  Yes, there are people still rebuilding.  Mostly it’s cities, counties, rather large businesses.  Once they complete just so much of their reconstruction, they get more money to complete more.  I will be working with people as they finish rebuilding and act as a sort of go between for them and the agencies like MEMA (MS Emergency Management Agency) and FEMA to help them out.  That’s a basic over view, but it does get more complicated than that.

I’m very excited to be going on to this challenge.  It will be something new and different for me.  To be honest, I’m very bored with my job now.  I don’t enjoy going to work as much as I should.  That’s not because of the people I work with, but because I know I’ll be doing basically the same thing I’ve been doing for the past four years.  I’m ready for something new.  And I’m glad I can stay with the same company while doing this.  They’ve been good to me and I don’t want to leave them.  I have 17 work days left in this office.  I’m dreading packing up my desk. That’s not going to be fun.

 

Leave a Reply

