SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Confession time December 6, 2010

Filed under: vacation — scifimama @ 5:54 am

I’m totally obsessed with planning our vacation in 2 weeks.  Totally, completely obsessed.  What I’m mostly obsessed with is making meal reservations.  Probably sounds odd to most people, but that’s what has me searching lately.  By staying on the Disney property we were able to get the meal plan.  Each of us gets 1 snack, 1 quick service meal (like fast food), and 1 table service meal (a sit down restaurant) each day of our stay.  The meal plan can save you a lot of money, if you use it to the maximum.  I’m using the meal plan to book restaurants I normally would not have afforded to eat at.

If we were having to pay menu price for our meals, it would be all quick service meals for us.  Fast food can get old, well, fast.  I like to be able to sit down and have a nice meal.  We can use the meals and snacks in any combination we want.  We get a total of 4 of each for each of the 3 of us.  If we want to use all snacks the first day, we can.  Or, we can spread it out.  I’m using the meal plan to book as many characters meals as possible.  I’ve been lucky so far and booked 3 character meals.  I have a 4th restaurant meal booked, but not with characters.

Our first day we get to have lunch with Handy Manny.  Our third day I got super lucky and snagged a dinner reservation someone else had cancelled with Chef Mickey in the Contemporary Resort.  Our final day we’ll have lunch with the Princesses in Epcot.  I’m trying and hoping pretty hard to snag a meal with Winnie the Pooh, Piglet and Eeyore.  I troll the Disney website several times a day checking different dates and times to get the meal I want. I’ll take breakfast, lunch or supper.  At this point it doesn’t really matter to me.  I’m just trying to get that character meal.

I’ve heard how much fun these can be for the kids.  After all, they get to sit and eat a decent meal, and their favorite characters come by to see them.  It also works out well for Mommy and Grammy.  We can have Chef Mickey come to our table, and not have to stand in that line at the Magic  Kingdom to see him.  It’s a win-win for all of us.  The downside?  The price.  If we weren’t on the dining plan we could never have afforded it.  Dinner with the Princesses?  Yeah, that’s $60 per adult, and $36 per child.  Plus tax and tip.  That’s outrageous!  There’s no way we could have afforded that for just one meal.  That total is about half of what we paid for the dining plan for the entire trip!  And I’ve booked 3 meals like that.  Then you add in the quick service meals and snacks we’ll get.  When we went in September we averaged $35 per meal for quick service.  Snacks?  I think the Mickey ice cream bar was $3 or $4.

With all of these restaurant meals available to us, I’m trying to do book as many of them as I can.  Disney World is so expensive, that I’m trying to get as much as I can for the money.

 

One Response to “Confession time”

  1. StrangeMamma Says:

    That is awesome! I am so jealous, I can’t wait until the kids are old enough to do a trip like this. At least now I’ll know to look for these meal plans. Hoe you guys have a totally great time.


Leave a Reply

