SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

More People Watching December 28, 2010

Filed under: Mommy,Whatever — scifimama @ 5:15 am

Now I’m all about comfort.  I’m blogging this wearing pajama pants, a baggy long sleeve t-shirt and slippers.  That’s probably more than you wanted to know, there it is.  I’m sitting around my house with a laptop on my lap watching some iCarly.  There have even been a couple of mornings where Paige and I have gone to Starbucks and Krispy Kreme in our jammies.  It’s OK, they have drive thru’s so we didn’t have to get out.  But for the most part, we don’t really leave the house in pajamas.

So, why is it we saw people walking around Disney World in their pajamas?  No, I’m not kidding, and no, they couldn’t have been anything but pajamas.  In fact, I saw one of the offending pajamas on a clearance rack in Walmart today.  They were most definitely pajamas.  I can see it some times, but to Disney World?  Those pictures of them in Disney are going to be around for a while.  That and lots of people were pointing and laughing.  Obviously though, if you’re wearing pajamas out in public you really don’t care.  It does make me wonder how warm they were.  Orlando was really cold when we were there.  Or the chicks wearing the micro minis.  I don’t see how they could have gotten on and off a ride without flashing the world.  In some cases, I’m surprised we couldn’t see more just from them walking.  There were lots and lots of short skirts.

The other thing we saw was slippers.  Granted, walking around that much can make your feet hurt.  And I’m the first to admit how much I like my slippers.  They’re comfy and warm.  But for walking several miles in a day?  I don’t think so.  That’s just not something I think would be comfy for that long a time.  There’s no arch support and they can’t be all that squishy.  I’m not sure what was worse: the slippers or the 70’s retro wedge boots.  Either looked uncomfortable for the long haul.

I was at the gas station this afternoon and saw a guy getting out of his car.  Let me just say that turning your hat sideways and walking funny doesn’t make you gangsta.  I’m not Catholic and I know that big bling around your neck is a rosary.  It’s less than 50 degrees so the stained up white undershirt you’re wearing leaves you looking cold not cool.  The pants down around your butt?  Yeah, you should really wear some nicer looking underwear if you’re going to do that.  They were stained.  And to add to the image, he got out of a Ford Explorer.

Those are some of my more recent people watching laughs.  Anyone seen anything funny?  I can’t be the only people watcher out there.

 

Leave a Reply

