SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Epic Mickey December 31, 2010

Filed under: fun,Geeky,Mommy — scifimama @ 5:49 am

Ronnie gave me this Wii game for Christmas.  He knew I wanted it and went ahead and got it for me.  The game is epically addictive!  I didn’t get to play until a couple of days after I got it.  We were busy with family and I had to wait until Paige was in bed.  She loves to play video games and would have wanted to play, so I wouldn’t have gotten a turn.  Not that she’s great at most video games, and this one is definitely beyond her, but it’s the principle of the thing.  It’s my video game and I wanted to actually play it.

It’s probably a good thing I waited, or nothing would have gotten done around here.  The first time I played it was for about 45 minutes.  I wanted to stop before that, but I just couldn’t.  Then I didn’t get a chance to play again until Thursday night.  Over an hour and a half later, and I finally just had to stop.  That may not sound like a lot to you.  I could sit in front of a computer for hours playing video games.  Playing Wii is different.  First, you can’t play sitting down.  You have to be up, on your feet, moving the entire time.  It’s not an aerobic workout, but it’s more strenuous that sitting on your butt in front of your MacBook.  Add in the arm waving, and jumping and it gets tiring.  No, you don’t actually have to jump to get the game to work, I just seem to do a little leaning, moving and hopping as Mickey does the same thing on the screen.  I think it helps, so let me have my delusions, please.

 

Leave a Reply

