SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

My Imaginary Friend January 14, 2011

Filed under: Mommy — scifimama @ 5:43 am

I had dessert Thursday night with my imaginary friend.  We went to Ruby Tuesday’s and had chocolate cake and ice cream.  It was very yummy with a great conversation.  No, the other people didn’t look at me like I was weird or anything, they could see her too!  I’ve made some good friends online.  Some I’ve met in person, some I haven’t.  One of them is named Jess.  After meeting online, we discovered she’s from the same town I currently live in.  She was in town for a super quick trip and asked if I could pick her up for some adult time.

This isn’t the first time I’ve met Jess in person.  One of the other times was at a difficult spot in her life.  That meeting I met most of her family as well.  She introduced me to her parents and siblings, and the other friends who had joined us, as her imaginary friends.  Seems her older generation family members just find it odd that good friends can live in different cities and never meet in person.  I’m OK with that label actually.  If you remember back to your childhood days, your imaginary friend was amazing.  They were always there when you needed them most and would give you anything, even their ice cream.  I have a few imaginary friends like that.  I’m proud to call them my imaginary friends.  I may not have met them in person, and some I may not ever be able to, but I know they’re there when I need a shoulder to cry on or just a bad joke to make me laugh.

 

4 Responses to “My Imaginary Friend”

  1. C. Beth Says:

    That is so cool–I’m really glad you guys met up! When I met Sasha & Elaine we were laughing about the same thing–people think it’s so odd. We joked about “meeting on match.com.” It’s amazing the bond that remains between Babycenter mamas. 🙂

  2. Linda Says:

    I love that term! I’m glad to be one of the imaginary friends you’ve met. (And for the record, my husband has met several of my imaginary friends as we’ve traveled and he’s loved every one of them. Imaginary or not, it’s great to have good friends.)

    • scifimama Says:

      I’m glad we got to meet too, Linda! And Beth was wonderful to meet. Ronnie has gone with me and met some of them as well. There are a couple more I’ve got on the top of my To Meet list sometime soon, like Caroline & Felicita from another board.

  3. […] posted a few months ago about my imaginary friend.  I have some others that would be considered imaginary friends as well.  I’ve never meet […]


Leave a Reply

