SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Locks of Love February 1, 2011

Filed under: Locks of Love,Mommy — scifimama @ 5:22 am

Have you heard of this organization?  They help children get hairpieces.  Here’s an intro from their site:

 

Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics. Most of the children helped by Locks of Love have lost their hair due to a medical condition called alopecia areata, which has no known cause or cure. The prostheses we provide help to restore their self-esteem and their confidence, enabling them to face the world and their peers.

 

Families who can’t pay can still get hairpieces for their kids.  Families who have the means to pay are asked to do so on a sliding scale.  I think it’s a great way to continue to provide this service to others.  They work on donated hair, helping them to keep the costs low.  The more people who give them hair, the more they can provide to kids who need it.  In order to donate your hair needs to be at least 10 inches long while in a ponytail.

I’m making an effort to grow my hair out to donate to Locks of Love.  If I can make it past the stage I’m in, there’s a good chance I can do it.  For the past probably 25 years, my hair hasn’t gotten past just touching my shoulders without cutting it.  When my hair reaches the pigtail stage but still too short for a ponytail, my coworkers would start taking bets on how long before I cut it.  Yeah, I’m that predictable.  It gets caught on my shoulders and stuck in my shirt collar, and gets all flippy.  And just annoys me in general.  Ronnie’s best guess on the length of my ponytail?  About 4 inches.  Of course that really shocks me.  I think more like 3.  And that’s with leaving me pretty well scalped back down to a pixie.  I’m not ready to try the pixie look again anytime soon.  I keep reminding myself why I’m growing it out, and hopefully that should stop me from chopping it off.    We’ll see.  I’ll post periodic updates as it grows.

 

4 Responses to “Locks of Love”

  1. C. Beth Says:

    Good for you! Mine was a little too short for LOL this last time 😦 but I was able to do it a few years ago.

  2. Kristin Barrero Says:

    I’ve actually heard the Pantene version of Locks of Love is a better charity. I’m sure you could do some research on what issues people have with Locks of Love…here’s what I’ve heard:…. ” i hear they actually charge the cancer patients for the wigs according to the parent’s income and they make a profit on the hair they don’t use. Pantene Beautiful Length wigs are given away absolutely free to cancer patients. “

    • scifimama Says:

      I’ll look into that one Kristin. I heard about another one, but didn’t like the requirements of it. Your hair had to be at least 12 inches, no grey, and no color treated hair. I can’t remember the name of it right now, but I could ask someone. I’m OK with Locks of Love charging patients that can afford it something on a sliding scale. They use that money to not charge other patients who can’t pay. Even though a charity gets the hair for free, they still have to pay for it to be made into a wig. I’ll definitely search into the Pantene version before I cut my hair.

  3. Kristin Barrero Says:

    Cool. I agree that charging isn’t the worst thing in the world. I also think they have an 8 inch req. rather than a 10 inch req. or something like that. But so proud of you by the way for going for it! Awesome! I have one cousin who used a wig during her student teaching and her chemo/radiation for Hodgkins disease.


Leave a Reply

