SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

How? March 2, 2011

Filed under: Paige,parenting — scifimama @ 5:19 am

How do parents with several kids do it? Or single Mom’s? It’s only Tuesday night and I’m exhausted! As I type this it’s 9:27 PM Tuesday night. I still have to put away the left overs, clean the kitchen, and get everything ready for school and work tomorrow. And tomorrow’s a field trip day, so there’s even more than usual to do. Since I got home at 6:15 I’ve made supper, given Paige a bath, talked to Ronnie, Skyped with Ronnie, read bedtime stories, gone to pick up my check from the consignment sale (don’t worry, Aunt Wii was here!), talked to my Mom, and played some on Facebook.

At this rate I won’t be in bed until well after 10 o’clock tonight. That wouldn’t be too bad, but that alarm going off at 4:45 in the morning is just too early! I have to get up early in order to get me and Paige ready for the day. Neither one of us wake up ready to go. We both need to ease into the day. We’re not so much seize the morning, as we are giving it the beauty queen wave as it glares at us from clock yelling at us to get moving and stop laying around. If we can muster enough energy for the wave even. Most mornings we barely give it a nod of recognition. Monday I even managed to sleep through both alarms! I must have turned both of them off in my sleep and went straight back out. I woke up with barely enough time to get us both ready and run out the door.

I just don’t see how I could do this if we had more than one child. And single Mom’s? I don’t know how they do it. A very good friend is a single mom to two kids. I’ve watched her do it, and I still don’t see how. She’s also the one picking up Paige from after care Wednesday and Thursday for me. So not only does she keep up with her two active kids, but she’s volunteered for a third as well. Suppers have been quick and easy. Sunday I cut up fruit for my lunch and put it in serving size containers, I packaged the meat for sandwiches into their own baggies (toss bread into the sandwich container, add to lunchbag, and run out the door), I even put little groups of lunch foods together on a cabinet to make it easier to throw stuff together last minute. Have I mentioned we’re usually running out the door late? It’s all helped, but nothing helps with all the other things I have to do.

I’ve decided all housework can just wait, other than putting away food & loading the dishwasher. Before Paige goes to school on Friday morning I have to make her a Mardi Gras costume of a literary character, and turn our wagon into a matching float. Paige has decided to be The Paper Bag Princess. If you hav a girl and don’t own this book head straight over to your favorite bookstore and buy it now. You can read the rest of my post later. It’s about a princess who saves the prince. We don’t need to wait around for a boy to do it for us, girls can do it all for ourselves (while wearing cute shoes, according to Paige). I’m thinking our wagon is going to turn into a dragon cave if I can ever find that stuffed dragon we have around here. Oh well, off to find a dragon!

 

6 Responses to “How?”

  1. evenandy Says:

    I have 2 (24 month old and a 6 month old) and I don’t see how single moms get through the day without pulling out their hair. I am fortunate that my hubby helps a lot when he gets home from work. Some days are better than others. I can say that I have now mastered working on limited sleep. Great post!

    • scifimama Says:

      Isn’t it wonderful having a husband who helps? I’m lost without mine here to help me as well. Only 2 more days and he’s home. Both of us girls are missing him. And sleep? I’m sure I’ve heard the word, but not quite sure what it means. Let me drink a bit more caffeine and google the word.

  2. StrangeMamma Says:

    I hear ya!! I dread times the Rocket Scientist is away, and I’m not nearly as organized as you. Mind you, I don’t have school and work to worry about, sometimes I think it would be easier if I did, then I’d at least get some time with adult conversation that doesn’t revolve around children while he’s away. I’ve just been informed that there may possibly be a work situation in the not so distant future that involves him being gone for, wait for it…3 to 6 months. AAAAAAAHHHH….let you know if it pans out. Or not.

    • scifimama Says:

      That would be awful! I couldn’t imagine Ronnie being gone that long. Ronnie asked if he came home Thursday if he could go back next week. I quickly said no!

  3. silver star Says:

    My mom couldn’t do it, working with my sister & brother, so when I came along, she stayed at home until I was in school full-time, & my sister left home (my sister was 15 when I was born). She substituted at our school until my brother was a senior, then she worked as a secretary for the school until I was old enough to drive. While my dad never went on business trips, he worked an hour from home 6am-3pm, so he wasn’t around in the mornings to help. We didn’t get to do many extra activities either, so that probably helped as well, but looking back, it still must have been hard at times for my parents.

    • scifimama Says:

      It’s hard, but you do what you have to. We try to keep Paige in her activities so she can try different things. But, if we had to give it up, that’s what we would do.


Leave a Reply

