SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Life in a Nutshell March 30, 2011

Filed under: Daddy,Mommy,Paige,parenting,sick — scifimama @ 5:37 am

Paige has been sick off and on for a week.  It’s her sinuses.  Everything is blooming here to the point that my green car is yellow.  All of us are having sinus problems.  When school calls to go get her because she’s either thrown up or is running a fever, our schedules get changed up.  Monday it happened just as Ronnie was supposed to get off work, so that was great timing.  Tuesday I took off to spend the day with her.  We had a movie day watching Tangled and The Neverending Story.  To my surprise Ronnie had never seen it, so I got to share it with both of them.  Neither of them liked it as much as I did.

Soccer practice is taking up time and making things more interesting.  Cooking and having decent meals is getting harder to do when we don’t get home until 6:30 and bedtime is at 8.  Our first game is Saturday morning.  It should be interesting watching the group of them trying to play a game.  No idea how well it will go, but as long as Paige is having fun, that’s all that matters.  One of the Dad’s there annoys me at practice.  He’s too competitive.  This is five and six year old soccer.  He’s out there with a boy only 4, says he’ll be 5 soon, and telling him how he has to score and to run faster, and all sorts of things like that.  It really bothers me.  I think at this age they should be out there learning to play and be good sports.  They will win some games and lose some.  I want Paige to enjoy the game either way and to realize that for every team that wins, a team doesn’t, and be nice about winning.  I don’t think this dad has the same ideas.  When we signed up we were given a booklet of information, including a guideline for how parents must act, or risk being banned from their children’s games.  Something tells me this dad won’t be around for long.

I’ve used my time off to put together the goody bags for Paige’s Easter party at school.  I’ve also stuffed the eggs for the Easter egg hunt they’ll have that day.  And I purchased the paper products for the party.  I think I’m pretty well ready for a party I can’t attend.  I’ve used up all my vacation time taking care of a sick baby girl.  I do still have a tax return to finish up this week.

For the most part things are hectic, but it’s exactly as I would expect.  Things never seem to settle down and go perfectly smooth.  If it does, I would wonder who’s life I’m in.  Things do have a tendency to work out.  Ronnie is off work Wednesday.  That means I get to go to work and not worry about getting that call that she’s sick.  I posted her symptoms on Facebook and found out that the same thing has been going around the 2 year old room at daycare, and typically lasts a couple of days.  If that’s right, then Paige should be able to go back to school Thursday.  Cross your fingers that it really happens that way.

 

Leave a Reply

