SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

I’m back, kind of. June 8, 2011

Filed under: blog — scifimama @ 4:45 am

I took a little break there for a while.  The truth is, it all got overwhelming.  Between work, soccer three times a week, sleep, and showering my days were just full and complete over flowing with things that needed to be done RIGHT NOW.  I was exhausted all the time and trying to figure out what I had time for and what I didn’t.  I thought I wouldn’t have time for this blog, even though I didn’t want to give it up.  Turns out, I don’t have to give it up, I just have to lower my expectations.

I was expecting too much of myself.  I was thinking I had to write a post every single weekday or I was a failure at blogging.  And I don’t.  I’ve lowered my expectations of myself.  Now, I expect myself to post twice a week.  That’s a number I feel I can start with.  See, here’s the thing.  I don’t blog until Paige goes down for bed at 8.  And I like to be in bed between 9:30 and 10.  Yes, that’s early, but so is 4:45 when the alarm goes off every morning.  In order to get a decent amount of sleep, I have to go to bed early.  So in that hour and a half to two hours I have a lot to do.  There’s the bare minimum housework (clean the kitchen mostly), get things ready for the next day, shower since grooming is rather important in my life, and spend time with my husband.

I don’t recommend that everyone lower their expectations, but for me, it was needed.  I enjoy writing and the blog is a good outlet for me.  Blogging less each week doesn’t make me less of a blogger, it makes me more realistic and a better Mommy and wife.  I keep that extra time for things like painting with Paige, bedtime stories, bike riding, and snuggling on the couch watching Dr. Who with Ronnie.  So stay tuned, there will be more posts coming soon.  In my next one I’ll give you a quick update on my our lives for the past few months.

 

One Response to “I’m back, kind of.”

  1. C. Beth Says:

    Good for you. I have only been blogging (on my main blog) about twice a week and it doesn’t feel like it’s controlling my life now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

