SciFi Mama

Adventures in raising a geeky child

Onesie Cupcakes October 11, 2011

Filed under: crafts,Mommy,pics — scifimama @ 9:20 pm

I’m a rather, shall we say, frugal person. So when I came across the most adorable adaption of gourmet cupcakes I about flipped. They were super cute, and would be perfect for the baby shower I was invited to later that month. But, they were $40, plus shipping, and I wasn’t paying that. I found a somewhat tutorial with a list of items. I gathered up my supplies and started.

4 Onesies (I like to use 3-6 month size)

4 receiving blankets

4 coffee filters

curling ribbon

cupcake box

ribbon to decorate box

Start by measuring the height of your cupcake box; mine was 4 inches. Fold a receiving blanket to 1/2 inch shorter than the box. Pick a onesie and fold it so that it fits into the blanket, sticking up that extra 1/2 inch allowance you left. Line up the left edge of the blanket and the butt side of the onesie.

From here, you simply roll them together tightly.

Once you get to the end set the whole thing into a coffee filter. You may want to put a bit of tape on it to hold in place. That wasn’t necessary on the first set I made, but the second set I had to do it. (It could have been the difference in the brands on items I used.) Tie a length of curling ribbon around the center of the coffee filter, making a simple bow.

The onesie looks a bit like icing sticking up on the top of a cupcake at this point. Continue like this until you’ve made all 4 onesie cupcakes. The package of onesies I bought actually had 5 in the pack. I used the last one to put in the bottom of the box for color. You could use a onesie or tissue paper to give that peek of color underneath the other cupcakes.

How you match up the onesies and blankets is all personal preference. I tried to put the brighter colors with the blankets that were more white. If the pattern was similar and one had more bold colors I tried to pair those. How you pair them is up to your personal taste.

To finish off the gourmet cupcake look I decorated the top of the box. I used a wide ribbon to close the box, adding more curling ribbon and a flower to the top. Definitely check out your local Dollar Tree for the ribbon and flower. That’s where I got mine, all matching and the ribbon already curled for me.

The recipient definitely liked her special cupcakes. Everyone at the baby shower thought it was the cutest idea. One of my coworkers overheard me talking about it and asked me to make one for her as well. She said it was the hit of the shower she attended.

 

3 Responses to “Onesie Cupcakes”

  1. C. Beth Says:

    That is SO cute!!

  2. Kristin Barrero Says:

    Cute! $40 and they weren’t even real cupcakes? Phst. No way! Yours are adorable 🙂

    • scifimama Says:

      Thanks. Exactly! $40 for them and I couldn’t eat one. What’s the point of that? Jess really liked it and that’s what mattered.


Leave a Reply

